4 replies to this topic

#1 pixelweave

pixelweave

Piglet

• Adv Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 20 April 2009 - 01:11 AM

Hi,

I'm new to Fusion, and I'm a bit confused as to how to implement expressions. I'm working on a biomedical animation, where I'm trying to add some random motion to several molecules via their transform tool(s). I'm specifically trying to apply the rand function to the Center attribute, and the the sin function to the Angle attribute. Can anyone point me in in the right direction as to how something like this is done? I've tried the following (which is loosely based from my knowledge of writing expressions in Maya), but it didn't work. Am I completely off track? Are using expressions the best way to achieve this?

Transform1.translateX = rand(0,5) + 1

Thanks!

#2 shaily

shaily

Flying Pig

• Adv Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 380 posts

Posted 20 April 2009 - 03:03 AM

hi pixelweave,

try
Point(random(0,.5)+1,.5)

ill ellaborate if needed.
also i changed five to point five, five will make sure your point of interest is almost always out of the visible frame area.

shaily.

#3 Robert Zeltsch

Robert Zeltsch

Member Pig

• Adv Members
  • PipPip
  • 24 posts

Posted 20 April 2009 - 03:10 AM

Hi,

You have several options:

A: You want to randomize a desired motion by defining a range
1. Right click on the center and select "Modify With/Shake"
2. In the modifiers Tab of the Transform a Shake tool appears. This will control your Center Point now.
3. In this modifier deactivate the Lock X/Y Option
4. Now you can animate the X-min/max and Y-min/max to layout an overall motion for your molecule
5. The Shake modifier randomizes the values between the animated min/max bounds, while keeping a coherent curve. Use "Smoothness" and "Random seed" to control the characteristic of this curve (You can watch in Spline View how the curve behaves over time)

B: You want an absolute random behavior of the motion, like jittering.