#1 French_Fry

French_Fry

Flying Pig

• Adv Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 174 posts

Posted 28 October 2013 - 11:40 AM

Hello,
I was wondering if anyone has successfully imported particles or pointclouds into Fusion. I saw on the mailing list there was a Fuse Isaac had written or something, but I don't see it on vfxpedia or anywhere.
To be more precise I'm looking to get particles form Softimage to Fusion, but any help or direction would be appreciated.
Thanks,
Joël

#2 ChadCapeland

ChadCapeland

Flying Pig

• Adv Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,975 posts

Posted 28 October 2013 - 10:39 PM

You can no longer directly create/affect particles in Fusion. Isaac's fuse wouldn't work anymore if you did have it. The best you can do is import the particle geometry with the proper vertex channels.

#3 French_Fry

French_Fry

Flying Pig

• Adv Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 174 posts

Posted 29 October 2013 - 01:25 PM

well...I've never done that before, and I don't even think I would know how to approach that. Are you talking about all the emitted particles replaced by geo exported as an FBX. Then you would use the vertex channel to drive the motion of the individual geo meshes somehow? Is that one of your crazy fuses or something? :mf_prop:

#4 ChadCapeland

ChadCapeland

Flying Pig

• Adv Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,975 posts

Posted 29 October 2013 - 03:07 PM

No, we have a plugin that loads .PRT files. But we can't turn them into Fusion particles anymore, we can only turn them into meshes. Millions of tiny cubes, tets, tris, etc. You can embed channels for velocity and color and density and such, but it's still just a mesh, you can't convert it into Fusion particles.

#5 French_Fry

French_Fry

Flying Pig

• Adv Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 174 posts

Posted 29 October 2013 - 03:57 PM

Ok, so it sounds like a pretty definite "no, it's not possible". back to the drawing board...

#6 SecondMan

SecondMan

Flying Pig

• Adv Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip